“I think I’m dying, too hot, too hot, I’m dying”

8 June 1972, Vietnam

South Vietnamese forces follow after terrified children, including 9-year-old Kim Phuc, center, as they run down Route 1 near Trang Bang after an aerial napalm attack on suspected Viet Cong hiding places, June 8, 1972. A South Vietnamese plane accidentally dropped its flaming napalm on South Vietnamese troops and civilians. The terrified girl had ripped off her burning clothes while fleeing. The children from left to right are: Phan Thanh Tam, younger brother of Kim Phuc, who lost an eye, Phan Thanh Phouc, youngest brother of Kim Phuc, Kim Phuc, and Kim's cousins Ho Van Bon, and Ho Thi Ting. Behind them are soldiers of the Vietnam Army 25th Division. (AP Photo/Nick Ut)

Such a famous image: young children crying and running for their lives from a napalm attack. The young girl in the centre cried “I think I’m dying, too hot, too hot, I’m dying”, and now fifty years later Kim Phuc who’s lived in Canada since the early 1990s, is having medical treatment in the US to reduce the pain from her scars. The napalm on the eventful day in 1972 had been accidentally dropped on civilians by the South Vietnamese.

Students often learn about Vietnam when they choose GCSE History. If you don’t know much about the Vietnam War, here’s a helping hand…

This BBC Bitesize website has revision, videos and tests about the Vietnam War. Whereas this BBC news website article gives a general summary of the war for both young and old.

1 thought on ““I think I’m dying, too hot, too hot, I’m dying”

Leave a comment